Waiting on Wednesday (57): The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins

Posted February 15, 2017 by Dani in Waiting on Wednesday // 1 Comment

wow 1 more hearts

Welcome to Waiting on Wednesday as hosted by Breaking the Spine. Each week we will be highlighting an upcoming novel that we are excited about. We will include links to add it to your Goodreads “To Be Read” shelf and where to pre-order it! As well, we will link to our review if we have been lucky enough to read an advanced copy of the book. Today’s featured book is…THE DRAGON’S PRICE by Bethany Wiggins!

Waiting on Wednesday (57): The Dragon’s Price by Bethany WigginsThe Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins
Series: Transference #1
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on February 21st 2017
ISBN: 0399549811
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 304
AmazonChaptersTBD
Add to Goodreads

Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.


Why We’re Waiting On It

I’m sorry, did you not read this line?

“…about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince”

That’s all we needed to read to be on board with this book. I mean, ok, there is a whole prince saving the princess thing going on here, but this girl is clearly after our hearts if she chooses a dragon over a boy.

We do have one question, though… Why is the princess called Sorrow???????

One response to “Waiting on Wednesday (57): The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins

Leave a Reply