Convince Me To Read (4): Falling Kingdoms Series by Morgan Rhodes

Posted March 5, 2016 by Jamie in Convince Me To Read, Features, Reviews // 0 Comments

cmtr 3

About Convince Me To Read Reviews

While we all have fairly similar tastes, sometimes we need a little push to read a certain book. The Convince Me to Read Review will be a review of the novel plus a section on why we think the others would enjoy it. It may lead to a Two Peas in a Pod Review! Today’s Review is a little different from past ones and Jamie tackles the entire FALLING KINGDOMS series, spoiler free of course!

Convince Me To Read (4): Falling Kingdoms Series by Morgan RhodesFalling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Also by this author: A Book of Spirits and Thieves, The Darkest Magic
Published by Razorbill on December 11th 2012
ISBN: 1595145842
Pages: 412

Add to Goodreads

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed... and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It's the eve of war.... Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword....


Jamie’s review

The fourth installment of this book, FROZEN TIDES, released in December 2015, and because I am super obsessed with this series, I was really surprised that Dani and Iris hadn’t picked it up yet! But today I shall remedy this. This review will be SPOILER FREE but cover the ENTIRE series (even though it just shows the information for the first book here — but the other summaries are spoiler-ish so I didn’t want to show them). Also, I hope that they both start soon so that we can wait for the fifth book together and cry over Magnus.

This series is ASoIaF for YA. It has so much intrigue and is clearly well thought out. The first book, FALLING KINGDOMS, doesn’t feel like a “First Book” where characters get introduced and not much more happens. The characters were introduced, of course, but they also changed and grew into new people throughout the first book — and continue to grow in the series. It doesn’t take them too long to do so, but it also felt natural. This series is very heavily character driven (which I love) but it still has really good world building and plot development too. I also really love that there is such high stakes! You get this huge cast of characters at the beginning (I’m talking like two full pages of people) and I was overwhelmed, but tbh people die. So you can cross those names off all the time.

It is well paced, with seamless transitions of time and location — as well as between characters. I love that there aren’t many infodumps in this series. Because everything is told through different povs and from different locations, we learn as characters learn and as they choose to divulge information. There are some times that we get more information than others, but it isn’t pages and pages of information, it is catching up certain characters on events and what is to happen next.

This is one of the best young adult high fantasy series I’ve ever read. I love that there is so much tension and build up and that we get to see everything that is happening while the characters are unaware. It makes the tension for the readers so great that we are reading on the edge of our seat. Once you start this series, you can’t put any of the books back down — and once you finish you immediately need to read the next book. This is one of those series that not a lot of people talk about, but those who do are so in love with it that they won’t shut up about it once you get them started. (Like me lol)

The story gets even more intricate with each book. There are layers upon layers to the people and past events that are influencing and affecting the current story that the main characters aren’t even aware of. I love how much detail and complexity Rhodes weaves into this story and I am always left in awe when I read this series because there is such good world building, relationship building, and threats that it makes it such a GOOD read. This is honestly such a good example of amazing fantasy in YA and I wish more people were reading this series.

BAMF divider

I don’t think I really need to do much to convince either Dani and Iris to pick it up. I think they will both like it: magic, intrigue, and such good characters. This is everything they could ever want to read and more. I don’t really shut up about this series so I’m sure they will eventually get around to it. But the way that Rhodes has written this plot is just IMMACULATE. Every book gets better and better as the world expands and the reader gets tangled even deeper in the web of Mytica and the lands beyond. I think they will both grow to love Magnus (like I did) but absolutely adore the female leads in this one. As would ANYONE WHO PICKS UP THIS BOOK. So for all our readers, START THIS SERIES.

About Morgan Rhodes

Morgan Rhodes lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess — the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.

Leave a Reply